Düsseldorf, Dortmund and Dinner (of the Roast kind)

A little bit delayed with this one, but at the weekend I travelled approximately 220 kilometres up north (look at me being all German) to visit Charis in Düsseldorf, as many moons ago (whilst we were still young and students) we booked tickets to go and see Cro, a German rapper, in Dortmund. It was lovely seeing my first old university friend after graduating and seeing what she was up to with the new graduate status (if you’re interested, she’s working for TK Maxx in Düsseldorf), as well as see a city I’ve only seen twice without somebody who knows their way around. The first evening I arrived we had a little house warming party at Charis’ as she had her flat for a few weeks, so I met a lot of her colleagues and friends, along with some extremely tasty pizza and wine. They were all really lovely (the friends that is, but then the pizza was really good), and included a few Yorkshire(wo)men which was pleasing to the ear. On Saturday with a mini roughness in my head, we decided to stay in Düsseldorf and have a look around rather than go to Dortmund for the day, and we had a look around the city, did some shopping, and had some extremely good burgers at a place with the most amazing mayonnaise. I bloody love mayonnaise! After that, we caught the train to Dortmund and went to go see Cro. I’d not had much time to properly listen to his album so unfortunately didn’t know many of the lyrics (I apologise Charis…) but the night was really good, bar the support act who, according to one of his songs, “wäre gerne kein Gangster” (doesn’t want to be a gangster). Innit. M8. Yeah… And to top off the weekend, we made (/Charis made and I wussed out at the sight of the chicken’s blood) a very tasty roast dinner (the weekend really was full of tasty things). A picture is below. It’s the first roast dinner I’ve had since getting to Germany, so nearly 4 months, and boy was it good. I’m just glad I already had my tea (/”dinner”) before writing this post. Full to the brim with tasty gravy, I caught the train home back to Frankfurt. So a big thank you to Charis for having me over the weekend. It’s a shame the Christmas markets were closed on Sunday (what are you playing at, Germany?!) but maybe next time! And I look forward to having you at some point in the future in Frankfurt!

Got on the train to find this on the seat I sat on. D'awwwh.
Got on the train to find this on the seat I sat on. D’awwwh.
Cro!
Cro!
Torches on phones on.
Torches on phones on.
Prost!
Prost!
The Rhine.
The Rhine.
Roast dinner. Yum yum!
Roast dinner. Yum yum!
Leave a Reply

