Chuffin’ ‘ell! Me mum came t’Frankfurt!

“Oh, I say! My mum came to Frankfurt!”

As a pre-celebration of her birthday, my mum came for a long weekend to visit me in Frankfurt (where I’ve been living for over 7 months now.. wow!) to see how German life is treating me. This was the first time ever my mum has flown by herself (and she’s already 29 years old…) so she was a little bit nervous, to say the least, about coming.

But, surprise surprise, everything went swimmingly, apart from how far she had to walk when she got to Frankfurt airport to finally get to her luggage and then to arrivals where I was waiting for her. After a quick coffee at the airport we headed into Frankfurt to drop off her stuff at mine.

On her first day, Friday, we had a walk around the city, and I showed her the main sights within the city centre (and if you know Frankfurt well, you know that that didn’t take long at all). So we quickly made our way to Café and Bar Celona for lunch and a glass of wine. The initial plan was to go out for a meal on the first evening but with the baguettes for lunch being so big at the café, we just ordered takeaway pizza and stayed in, watching BBC World News because that’s the only English programme available on my TV at home.

On Saturday we had a walk through town, went for coffee with Tim (and both thought it would be hilarious to show embarrassing photos of me to each other… thanks guys!), and Mum was brave enough to head to the big Main Tower which you can go up, only to find that the queue was huge and it would’ve taken us a while, so we decided against it. We saw the rest of the things around the city which we’d missed the day before, did a little bit of shopping, and then headed back home for a rest, after which we headed to the Skyline Plaza for dinner at the Alex Restaurant (Mum had the Currywurst, of course!).

Sunday saw us walking through the Grüneburgpark near to where I live (I was surprised at how many people we saw jogging around!) and then back to the Bockenheimer Warte to meet up with Amy, Saskia and Amy’s mum, Sally, for a coffee. We then decided to take the chance to head back to the Main Tower to see what the queue was like – lucky for us, there was no queue at all, so we went up the 191m-tall building (or, at least, that’s how high the first lift takes you up!). In the evening, our last evening together, I thought it would be silly to not take my mum into Sachsenhausen (not for the clubs though) for a Schnitzel in one of the typical German restaurants there. We were then lucky to notice that we could take a direct bus back to my house (about 40 minutes) from right outside the restaurant, so we had a mini sightseeing tour by night through the city back home.

On my mum’s last day here we had a slow morning and then headed to Bornheim, where I work, for lunch with my colleagues which was nice, but also a little weird having two lives mixed up, like when I had family visit in Hannover. My colleagues and mum also managed to bully me a little bit, which confirmed that they also got on really well with each other…

Before we knew it, we were heading back to the airport, where I left my mum to catch her flight back to Manchester.

And that was my long weekend with my mum! It actually went incredibly fast, but it was lovely having a mother and son weekend. And now my mum’s reet brave and can fly all by herself, I’m sure she’ll come and visit again at some point. Though I asked her to give me notice so I’m not surprised to find her at my doorstep after a day at work or something!

Selfie!
Selfie!
On top of the Main Tower.
On top of the Main Tower.
Euro-Skulptur.
Euro-Skulptur.
Showing her the best of Germany!
Showing her the best of Germany!
Mother and son!
Mother and son!
One thought on “Chuffin’ ‘ell! Me mum came t’Frankfurt!

Leave a Reply

