Oktoberfest, Federweißerfest, and the “big” move

After returning to work last Monday, I had only four days until the working week was over yet again. 3rd October is “German Unity Day”, meaning a day off work, which I’m not complaining about!

David and I travelled to Munich in the evening (after my first lie in in a week and a half which was wonderful). After saying I’d slept enough to not fall asleep on the train, I fell asleep for a good 3 hours before arriving in Bavaria’s capital. Tired from the train journey (and the 3-hour sleep?!) we went straight to our hostel and to bed, ready to wake up the next day bright and early to get ourselves in the queue for the Hofbräu Festzelt on the Wiesen.

We got ourselves queued up at around 7:30am on Saturday. Thankfully this time I hadn’t been on a night out a couple of hours before like my first timer at the Oktoberfest two years ago! Eventually, at 9am, we were let in, and, along with James who I know from university, we enjoyed beer and shared a big pretzel, as well as the company of two Canadians and three Germans. It was all going well until our little area, of about 20 people, got thrown about by a pretty angry security guard. We all still have not a clue what and why it happened, but at least we were planning on leaving pretty soon anyway so we had time to have a look at the Wiesen and Munich itself.

There’s not much I can say about Munich. I’ve been there before and it’s a very pretty city, although with it being Saturday and Oktoberfest it was absolutely heaving in the city centre. James, David and I had a walk around and walked all the way up to the Englischen Garten where we saw some guys surfing on waves on the lake… it must have been bloody freezing! But some of them were pretty damn good! We caught the U-Bahn back to the certain and on the U-Bahn we bumped into my housemate, Johannes, who was in Munich visiting some friends – die Welt ist ein Dorf! James went back to Nuremberg where he’s spending the year doing British Council, and David and I had a wander round, spending a lot of time in a book shop. Our train wasn’t until 9pm which we realised was too ambitious – we were absolutely knackered from walking around all day. We eventually arrived back in Frankfurt at about quarter past midnight on Sunday morning.

On Sunday, I went to the Federweißerfest in Frankfurt with some colleagues. Federweißer is a kind of ‘young wine’ which still hasn’t fully fermented yet. I’m not a wine expert so can’t go into much more detail than that, but I do know it tastes pretty damn good and dangerously not like alcohol, more like juice. This was also a mini farewell meet up for Amy who’s going off to England and France for a month for work stuff.

On Tuesday I finally moved house into another flat share, about 2 minutes away by foot. I now like in a 2er WG with another guy, Joshua, whose girlfriend has moved down to Reutlingen in Baden-Württemberg for studying. They used to share one room together, but with Nina moving away, they wanted somebody to live in the guest room to help pay with the rent and, I guess, keep Joshua company! It’s a Zwischenmiete, meaning I’m only living here for a certain amount of time (until the end of July) but hopefully by then I’ll know what I’m doing – whether staying in Frankfurt or moving away. Then I can look for something permanent here or just for an extra month (and Joshua said I could probably stay that extra month, too, if need be).

But now’s the time to enjoy the present. I’ll worry about the end of my internship when I get to it…

Welcome to Oktoberfest!
Welcome to Oktoberfest!
Prost!
Prost!
The Rathaus in Munich.
The Rathaus in Munich.
Surfing in the Englischen Garten!
Surfing in the Englischen Garten!
Me and Amy at the Federweißerfest.
Me and Amy at the Federweißerfest.
All packed and ready to go.
All packed and ready to go.
Leave a Reply

